Podcast CME Course Information

Exam: Exam 409: Early predictors of mortality in parkinsonism and Parkinson disease: A population-based study

Issue: November 27, 2018

Learning Objectives

Early predictors of mortality in parkinsonism and Parkinson disease: A population-based study

Upon completion of this podcast, listeners will be aware of predictors of early mortality in parkinsonism and Parkinson disease.

Recommended Audience

This program is designed for physicians who are involved in providing patient care and who wish to advance their current knowledge of clinical medicine.

Core Competencies

  • Patient Care
  • Medical Knowledge


Program Accreditations Subcommittee (PAS) is responsible for reviewing and evaluating all CME programs. Joseph F. Kass, MD, JD, FAAN, has received personal compensation for activities as an expert witness in litigation and in an editorial capacity for the American Academy of Neurology. Barney J. Stern, MD, FAAN, has received personal compensation for book chapter contributions. The other members of the committee (Samir Belagaje, MD; J. Clay Goodman, MD, FAAN; Omotola A. Hope, MD; Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN) and AAN staff (Kristine Mitchell) report no disclosures. Robert A. Gross, MD, PhD, FAAN, has received funding for travel and/or speaker honoraria from the American Academy of Neurology; receives a stipend as Editor-in-Chief of Neurology; has received consultant fees from GlaxoSmithKline and Harris Interactive; has served on speakers' bureaus for Abbott, UCB, and GlaxoSmithKline; has conducted clinical trials over the past 5 years funded by GlaxoSmithKline, UCB, Ortho-McNeil, Pfizer, and Marinus, but has ceased participation in industry-sponsored clinical trials and speakers' bureaus since his appointment as Neurology EIC in 2010; and has received research support from the Department of the Army, UCBPharma, and University of Rochester Medical Center/NIH. Dr. Stacey Clardy serves as Podcast Editor for Neurology® and has received research support forWestern Institute for Biomedical Research (WIBR). Dr. Jeff Ratliff serves as Podcast Deputy Editor for Neurology andreceived a speaker honorarium from Haverford College. AAN staff members editing the test (P Baskin, L Kleffman, K Aman Ramm) have no disclosures. The CME Journal Editors who have reviewed the exam are James WM Owens Jr., MD PhD, who receives royalties from UpToDate, Waltham, MA; grant support from NIH (PI, K08NS054882); and a stipend in his editorial capacity for Neurology and Adam Kelly, MD, who has served as Guest Editor of Continuum (April 2014) and receives a stipend in his editorial capacity for Neurology.

Dr. Jeff Ratliff has received speaker honoraria from Teva and US WorldMeds LLC; is the deputy editor for the Neurology Podcast; has been a consultant for UCB Pharmaceuticals, US WorldMeds LLC, Medscape, and Retrophin Inc; and has served on speakers' bureaus for Teva and US WorldMeds LLC. Dr. David C Bäckström holds patents for chemical compounds that may be developed as treatments for premenstrual dysphoric disorder, but has not received any personal compensation for the patents. Dr. David C Bäckström has received Research Support from Swedish Medical Research Council, grant number (K2013- 62X-15224-10-4) and unrestricted grant for Parkinson disease research and has received foundation and societies research support from Erling Persson Foundation, Umeå University, Västerbotten County Council, King Gustaf V and Queen Victoria Freemason Foundation, Swedish Parkinson Foundation, Kempe Foundation, and Swedish Parkinson’s Disease Association. Dr. Marinos Dalakas serves the CIDP steering committee for Novartis and on DSMB for Baxalta and Octapharma, has received funding or served as a travel speaker honoraria for Merck/Serono, OCTAPHARMA, PFIZER AG. Dr. Marinos Dalakas has served on editorial board including Neurology editorial board (5 years, not compensated), BMC Neurology (Section Editor, 5 years not compensated), Acta Myologica editorial board (5 years, not compensated), Acta Neurologica Scandinavica editorial board (5 years, not compensated), and Therapeutic Advances in Neurology (Associate Editor; 4 years, compensated). Dr. Marinos Dalakas consultancies include work with Therapath, Baxter, Octapharma, CSL, Dysimmune Diseases Foundation and he has received research and institutional support from Thomas Jefferson University Neurology department or to Neuroimmunology Unit, University of Athens Medical School for research and education from: Merck-Serono, Genzyme, Novartis, Guillain-Barre/CIDP Foundation, Dysimmune diseases Foundation, CSL, Biogen and Newfactor.

The other participants report no disclosures.

CME Expiration

CME expires three years after publication date or sooner if podcasts are deemed out of date by reviewers.


The American Academy of Neurology Institute is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

AMA PRA Credit™

The American Academy of Neurology Institute designates this journal-based-CME activity for a maximum of 0.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


The American Academy of Neurology holds copyright for all materials in this exam.


Any information regarding the identity of individuals taking the exam or their exam scores will be kept confidential.

Hardware and Software Requirements

A computer with a web browser such as Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari, or Google Chrome is required.

Start this exam

For More Information

Patty Baskin

Executive Editor, Neurology®
(612) 928-6021